BLACK HUMOUR

The latest and greatest fantastic zine-o produced by myself, the beautiful Anastajia Voitova, and the quirky Edward Wong.

It took a surprisingly long time making this. The content’s somewhat controversial but I wanted a reaction. Zines are supposed to have an attitude, and I was so sick of graphic design projects ending up with an “itsnicethat” effect. Or making issues out of things which no-one really gives a shit about. Alot of them are original ideas, and some of them are creative and fun to read, but ah.. I dunno, I have a warped mind I guess. I like zines more along the lines of  FUN magazine. There’s no limit on a zine’s content. It’s self-published and unofficial, you can write about whatever you want. Why not write about abortion going wrong, spilling out disfigured baby fetuses which amass all over the world and form an army which seek to dominate mankind. Or sharing photographs with the world of mouldy food in people’s fridges. It’s clear from websites like ratemypoo.com or rotten.com that people love seeing this stuff. It’s gross but also very funny! Makes a welcome break from the seriousness of typical graphic design, in MY opinion. Maybe I just need to open my eyes wider.Anyway, check out the spreads:

I’m very very interested in creating a whole new zine altogether, seeking artists I met from the zine fair who are brilliant illustrators/creators.

  • uprooting of conventional norms
  • great works of literature
  • the effect of 20th century musicians on generations
  • icons and figureheads
  • treehouses
  • horror films and spectres. apparitions and demons
  • absolute terror/the human condition
  • things which are seemingly destructive for no reason
Leave a Reply

